Thursday, March 24, 2011

The Reveal


I've always wanted to cut my hair super short, just to try it out once. And I finally did it! And I mostly like it. Who knew guys had it so easy this whole time?! I have to say, there are some major benefits to having really short hair. It is so easy to do, for one. But then there are little things--like when you walk in the wind and don't have to worry how your hair looks; or when your son crawls all over your face and head and your hair doesn't get caught. So awesome.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Hair



It's a little difficult to see, but we're trying to show how long Taryn's hair is getting with a ruler. It is over 1.5 inches long! It still sticks straight up and we were curious as to how long it will get before gravity takes over and it falls down. Any guesses? I'm not too sure if I'm too keen on the idea of having a newborn with a bob though. Weird.

Thursday, February 10, 2011

What we do


We play with beans.


We play Starfall.


We pump. :)


We read books.


We play in the sink.


We make cookies (and eat the dough).


And we hold baby Taryn.
It's a good life.

Monday, February 7, 2011

The obligatory photo shoot

As a duty to womanhood and being the new mom of a baby girl, I knew I had to dress her up at least once and do a photo shoot.


She is cute, isn't she?

Monday, January 31, 2011

Friday, January 28, 2011

The Labor Story and some

I know you've all been dying to hear the labor story...(really, all this info is for my own benefit when I'll one day make my blog into a book).

So on Monday, Jan. 3, I had been having mild contractions all day about every 8-12 min. Nothing too crazy just uncomfortable. Though remember, I was induced with Reed so I never went into labor on my own. So this was new. I was also feeling really crappy. Not just end-of-pregnancy crappy but something felt different. I was kind of in pain. So the day goes on and we head up to Kevin's parent's house for dinner that night. Kevin's sister, Whitney and her husband Marty and baby Matthew were heading back to VA the following day, so we wanted to get together one more time. Plus, I hadn't been able to hang out on New Year's because I had gotten the flu (awesome, I know). Anyway, I was doing my best at breathing through the contractions--I'm not very good at the whole mind-over-matter nonsense--so it was a struggle at times. I was laying on the couch when all of a sudden, I felt like the baby had punched through my pelvis! I heard and felt a pop! Then there was a little gush and I had an extremely painful contraction. I ran to the bathroom to check things out. Even at this point, I wasn't positive that my water had broken. I doubt my opinion a lot; really, she would have to be crowning before I'd be 100% positive I was in labor. So I called the doctor and asked his opinion. He told me to go to the hospital if I continued to "trickle." He probably thought I was bluffing though because I had called the night before thinking I was leaking amniotic fluid. Okay, a lot of info. ANYWAY, we decided to drive to the hospital (luckily, Reed was already sleeping at Oma's) and make sure. But immediately after walking out the door, I started getting really intense contractions every 2-3 min. Then the picture-perfect TV show labor story continues. Kevin was speeding and breaking traffic laws as I was moaning/yelling during contractions and then crying in-between (lots of emotions--like thinking how it wouldn't just be me and Frog anymore). Poor Kevin was probably a nervous wreck (he likes to obey traffic laws, to the point of annoyance). We finally got to the hospital, they checked me, and admitted me about 9pm. Happily with an epidural, I delivered baby Taryn at 2:22 am on my due date--Jan. 4. Yahoo!

As for the following weeks, it has been a challenge. Not just with the normal newborn adjustments (which lasts a good 3 months for me) but I had to deal with a couple of crappy things. I developed mastitis, a horrible breast infection; I did all I could to reduce the ridiculous engorgement including cabbage leaves which apparently can really affect your milk supply. After 10 days of antibiotics, I was worried about my milk supply being insufficient. So I started taking an herbal supplement to increase my milk supply. But for some reason, I tend to get every side effect listed on the side of the bottle, and I got a crazy case of hives. No, I WAS a hive. I was covered from head to foot, including the bottoms of my feet and palms. Yep, it sucked and I was put on more medication for that. Luckily, it looks like I am finally in the clear and there are only a few lingering hives left. So in the past 8 weeks, I had gotten the flu twice, a yeast infection, a sore throat bad enough for antibiotics, mastitis, and hives. But after all that, I am still so grateful that through it all, not anyone else in our little family got sick. Really, it was such a blessing. We had a ton of help the past few weeks from family and friends and it really is humbling to know that so many people care about you. I feel very fortunate.

Sunday, January 16, 2011

Fun in the Winter

Again, another delayed post. But we did do some fun activities over the holidays:



Temple Square



Lots of cookie making and eating


A Christmas parade


No explanation needed


And trying snow for the first time. Now he will get into his car seat and eat snow off his shoes. Yum!